My Teaching Journey

through the intersection of math and middle school

A Change in Position for Next Year

Today our principal told us our teaching teams for next year. I’ll be teaching on a two-person team in seventh grade. Yippee!

I’ve taught math for the last three years–one year in sixth grade and the past two years in eighth grade–so being able to teach seventh grade math will round out my experience in all three grades (but only sort of since the Common Core changes lots of standards).

But wait! I’m on a two-person team, which means I get to teach TWO subjects. My other subject is social studies, and I’m getting more and more excited about it. I was a history major as an undergrad and social studies has always been my first love, although I truly love middle school math topics.

This is what I’m looking forward to next year…

  • My teammate is awesome in every sense of the word.
  • One of the other social studies teachers is as detail-oriented as I am, and we get along famously.
  • Collaborating with other math teachers to further my understanding of high-quality math instruction
  • Collaborating with other social studies teachers. I will have to chance to learn about teaching another subject! So stoked!
  • Collaborating with other content teachers to create awesome interdisciplinary IB units
  • Teaching the same students twice each day. This gives me more time to build relationships and the chance to have a huge positive impact on their learning.
  • I get to learn about the inner workings of seventh graders, who are truly unique animals.

Some of my concerns…

  • Learning new math standards. Since some of the standards will be new, everyone will be learning together, and I can help with standards that are coming down from the eighth grade and standards that are coming up from the sixth grade.
  • Learning social studies content. Is it s cruel joke that they got the guy whose last name is Hussain to teach about Africa and Asia? Just kidding! I’m excited to share my cultural experience with my students. I’m hoping my students can interview my dad about Pakistani culture, and maybe the wife’s sister (who is teaching elementary school in Israel) can be pen pals with my students.

I’ll be content with whomever I teach, on any grade level and in any subject, but I feel very blessed with the way that next year is beginning to take shape.

One response to “A Change in Position for Next Year

  1. Leslie G. May 5, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    You’re going to be wonderful! Think about ways you, Teresa and I can work together in the media center with the interdisciplinary units…could be lots of fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

