My Teaching Journey

through the intersection of math and middle school

Foldable for Linear Relationships and Graphing

Kudos to I Speak Math for the recent math activities she has posted; I sent the Human Box and Whisk-ers Plot activity to my seventh grade colleagues since Box and Whisker Plots are a seventh grade standard in Georgia, while I latched on to the foldable for reviewing linear relationships, which is the most significant eighth grade concept that I teach.

Since I Speak Math posted the Microsoft Word file, I made a few changes based on how I taught the concepts and what my students need to know. I left out domain and range but added the lyrics to Missy Elliot’s “Work It” since that’s how I taught perpendicular slopes.

As I was sharing the idea with my instructional coach this week, she immediately asked if I was going to make a large one. Confused and curious, I asked how. She said the tri-fold reminded her of the large tri-fold display boards used for poster presentations, of which she had several blank one. Awesome idea! I’ll post pictures when I (or my student teacher) finishes it.

Here are the links to my version of the foldable: PDF file and Word file

3 responses to “Foldable for Linear Relationships and Graphing

  1. tothesquareinch March 6, 2012 at 10:39 pm

    SO cool! Thanks so much for sharing! I love the idea of the large foldable on the trifold board!
    ☼Kate
    To The Square Inch

  2. I Speak Math March 6, 2012 at 11:21 pm

    I’d love to hear more about Missy Elliot’s “Work It” for perpendicular slopes – I haven’t heard of that! Also looking forward to seeing the trifold board! How fun! I’m posting another foldable just for Slope soon – hopefully tonight. 🙂

    • Nick April 16, 2012 at 9:01 pm

      I got the idea from the Teaching Ninja.

      The kids liked it, they remembered it, and I got to play music in class. A win-win for all involved. In some of my classes, we discussed the term “negative reciprocal,” and in some we didn’t. It depended on the ability level and mathematical interest of the each class.

Leave a Reply

