My Teaching Journey

through the intersection of math and middle school

The Best Sub Ever

I’m out of the classroom at least once a month for professional development or a meeting of some sort. Today, I had a Middle School Instructional Council meeting for the second half of the day. Whenever possible, I try to get Mrs. Hussain to be my sub. She is the World’s Best Sub.

She knows my students, or at least the stories I tell about them, so she’s always interested in meeting them. She can ask me questions about my lesson plan the night before, which means she is a sub who KNOWS WHAT IS SUPPOSED TO HAPPEN during class. She also is my wife, which means the students know I will see her that night and she will tell me everything that happened.

The first time I had her sub, I told my students the day before so they wouldn’t be surprised (it’s not good to surprise middle school students; they become crazed at the slightest change from normalcy). The conversation went something like this:

Me: I will be absent tomorrow due to a district meeting. Mrs. Hussain will be your substitute.

Girl 1: What? Your wife? [almost falls out of chair with excitement]

Boy 1: [turns to friend] Aw, man! We’re going to have to be good. She’s going to tell him everything!

I love my students, even Boy 1.

2 responses to “The Best Sub Ever

  1. Craig McClellan November 9, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    As a substitute teacher, I would freaking love to sub my wife’s class (if she had one). That is so cool that y’all get to do that!

    Also, I miss you guys.

  2. Jessica November 9, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    Sounds familiar. 🙂 I have James’ kids daily in other classes and they usually give me that shocked expression when they put 2 and 2 together…even though I’ve been at Bwood since Feb!

Leave a Reply

